top of page

Matt Edwards wins Circuit of Ireland

 April 4, 2024

Carbon Positive Motorsport brand ambassador Matt Edwards strengthened his Irish Rally Championship campaign with a stunning victory on the 2024 Circuit of Ireland Rally.

Co-driven by David Moynihan, the pair sealed their hard fought 14.4 seconds victory over Keith Cronin with a clever tactical tyre choice on the final two stages. Forecasting that rain was coming, the crew carried two spare wet tyres in the car to swap onto for the final two stages.


Carbon Positive Motorsport brand ambassador Matt Edwards on his way to his first Circuit of Ireland win in 2024

The victory at the rally was his first Circuit of Ireland win, and it was also the first time a Circuit of Ireland winner has competed with their competition fuel use carbon emissions fully offset using Carbon Positive Motorsport's international offsetting package.

Carbon Positive Motorsport director Steve Smith said, "I’m delighted for Matt to have won such an iconic and high-profile event. Given his seeding and the importance of his clever tyre choice – we will make it three first for Matt by also offsetting his event tyres using our tyre offsetting package!"


Carbon Positive Motorsport brand ambassador Matt Edwards

Our International Offsetting package positively offsets 200% of carbon emissions using an affordable high quality project portfolio that blends carbon offsetting and abatement projects with high quality rewilding projects within Europe.

Carbon Positive Motorsport founder, Paul Glass, added "We are delighted to be supporting Matt again this year and would like to congratulate him on his win on the Circuit of Ireland.

"We are very happy to be able to support Matt and other competitors in countries outside the EU with our international offsetting package.‘’

Carbon Positive Motorsport brand ambassador Matt Edwards winning the Ciruit of Ireland 2024

Motorsport does not need to cost the earth. To offset your fuel usage or competition tyres visit


 2024 Circuit of Ireland - Top Ten Results

1.        Matt Edwards / David Moynihan    Ford Fiesta Rally2      1:11:46.3

2.        Keith Cronin / Mikie Galvin           Ford Fiesta Rally2        1:12:00.7       +14.4

3.        Josh Moffett / Andy Hayes           Citroën C3 Rally2   1:13:32.4       +1:46.1

4.        Cathan McCourt / Brian Hoy            Ford Fiesta Rally2   1:13:57.8         +2:11.5

5.        Garry Jennings / Rory Kennedy            Ford Fiesta Rally2   1:15:29.5         +3:43.2

6.        Jason Black / Karl Egan           Toyota Starlet 1:16:37.3        +4:51.0

7.        Mark Alcorn / Darren Curran           Ford Escort MK2     1:16:40.4        +4:54.1

8.        Damian Toner / Aodhan Gallagher    Ford Escort MK2      1:18:00.2       +6:13.9

9.        Joseph McGonigle / Ciaran Geaney      Citroën C3 Rally2      1:18:18.0       +6:31.7

10.      Conor Murphy / Sean Collins           Ford Escort MK2 1:18:34.8        +6:48.5




bottom of page