top of page

McRae Rally Challenge Round Up

Carbon Positive Motorsport were delighted to support last weekend's McRae Rally Challenge by offsetting all competitor carbon emissions on the event.

The event commemorated Colin McRae becoming the youngest ever World Rally Champion and also recognised and celebrated the achievements of Jimmy McRae, Alister and 3rd generation rising star, Max McRae.

Sadly car 1 Alister McRae / Ian Grindrod retired on SS10 with fuel pump issues.

The weekend incorporated a huge variety of rally attractions, with some great static displays, including a line up of Colin's cars, however, taking centre stage was the invitational McRae Rally Challenge, supported by Beatson's Building Supplies and Event Scotland. The special invitational for 65 leading national and international rally crews, featured a Senior and a Junior rally event.

Paul Glass, founder of Carbon Positive Motorsport, was there to support the event and our Carbon Positive Ambassadors, including the overall event winner, Garry Pearson.

Congratulations to CPM Ambassador Garry Pearson and co-driver Ross Kirk who took victory in their Ford Fiesta Rally2.

John Marshall/Craig Wallace finished 9th in their Ford Fiesta Rally2

Max McRae/Mac Kierans were 7th overall.

Jimmy McRae /Andy Richardson were 30th in the RS1800.

CPM Ambassador John Wink was 10th in the Hyundai, co -driven by Neil Shanks.

CPM Ambassador Ashleigh Morris, co-driven by Marc Fowler, was 4th in class 2 after a hard fought battle.

Former Junior Champion, Archie Swinscoe and his co-driver Barry Young were also affected by fuel pump issues and had to retire their Opel Adam.

CPM Ambassador Cat Lund was co-driving for 14 year-old Dan Taylor in the Junior Championship. The pair missed stage five on Saturday due to a holed fuel tank, but the team worked through the night to change the tank after a dash to Dundee by CPM founder Paul Glass for a replacement! The crew fought back to finish 16th of 20 despite their 30 minute penalty for missing a stage.

Ashleigh Morris was delighted with 3rd in class after a tough battle.

The static displays included Colin's famous L555BAT.

McRae Rally Challenge Top Ten Results

1. #2 Garry Pearson/Ross Kirk Ford Fiesta Rally2 45:23

2. #4 Andy Scott/Laura Connell Hyundai i20 R5 45:48 +25

3. #7 Joe Cunningham/Joshua Beer Ford Fiesta R5 2ltr 45:51 +28

4. #37 Finlay Retson/Rhys Stoneman Ford Fiesta Rally2 45:58 +35

5. #3 Gordon Morrison/Hannah Davison Ford Fiesta R5 46:17 +54

6. #32 Ian Forgan/Chris Lees Ford Fiesta Rally2 46:18 +55

7. #10 Max McRae/Mac Kierans Ford Fiesta Rally2 46:19 +56

8. #15 Jonny Milner/Colin McMath Toyota Corolla WRC 46:59 +1:36

9. #9 John Marshall/Craig Wallace Ford Fiesta Rally2 47:17 +1:54

10. #18 John Wink/Neil Shanks Hyundai i20 R5 47:32 +2:09

See the full results at

It only costs a little to make a big difference for the sport, so whether you're a competitor or spectator, why not join with us to help make motorsport sustainable.

To become Carbon Positive yourself, visit


bottom of page